Queensland Law Society

Who is Council?

The President leads the Council in setting the corporate direction and goals and monitoring the performance of the Society. The President also works closely with the Chief Executive Officer to ensure the effective corporate governance of Queensland Law Society. Each President is elected for a term of one year, with the Deputy President succeeding to the office of President at the beginning of the second term.

The Executive Committee assist Council with the administration of the Society and implementing Council's directions and consists of a president; deputy president, immediate past president, and two elected councillors.

President: Christine Smyth

2017 Immediate Past President: Bill Potts

Vice President: Christopher Coyne (September 2017 - December 2017)

Vice President: Kara Cook (January 2016 - August 2017)

Ordinary Members of Council:

  • Michael Brennan
  • Christopher Coyne
  • Jennifer Hetherington (January 2016 - August 2017)
  • Chloe Kopilovic
  • Elizabeth Shearer
  • Karen Simpson (Attorney-General's Nominee)
  • Ken Taylor
  • Kara Thomson
  • Paul Tully