Queensland Law Society

2013 Council election results are in!

The results are in for the Queensland Law Society 2013 Council election!

Our elected representatives are:

  • President – Ian Brown
  • Deputy President – Michael Fitzgerald
  • Vice President – Deborah Awyzio
  • Ordinary members of Council:
    • Christine Smyth
    • Bill Potts
    • Kara Cook
    • Danielle Keyes
    • Kenneth Taylor
    • Paul Tully
    • Elizabeth Shearer
    • Christopher Coyne.

Ms Deborah Awyzio will resign as the Attorney-General’s nominee on Council.

After a four-phase rollout that included encouraging practitioners to ensure they were on the Roll of Members, supporting nominees, inspiring members to vote and now, revealing the results we are happy to announce 1689 members voted, representing 19.4% of full members.

Our 2014 Council members will oversee a number of important policy directions including:

  • transitioning the Society to a modern corporate governance structure
  • delivery of the strategic and policy direction of the profession through oversight of the strategic plan.

All candidates displayed an innovative approach to campaigning that included use of social media channels, sending postcards to voters and taking advantage of networking opportunities.

We sincerely thank every member who participated by voting or running for Council – it’s one of the most important governance events for the profession.

Our congratulations to all candidates for their commitment to the profession, hard work during the campaign and willingness to participate in one of our most important governance events.

Contact us with questions or feedback regarding the election.