Queensland Law Society

QLS Equity and Diversity Awards 2017

Equity & Diversity Awards 

The Queensland Law Society Equity & Diversity Awards celebrate practices that promote equity in the profession, engage in inclusive and equitable workplace practices, and embrace workplace diversity in a meaningful way.

2017 Award Winners

The Equity & Diversity Awards 2017 were held on Wednesday 17 May.  

Large Legal Practice Award - Cooper Grace Ward Lawyers

Cooper Grace Ward Lawyers has five diversity streams in its practice, including gender and flexibility, accessibility, LGBTIQ issues, age and Indigenous, and culture.

Small Legal Practice Award - Miller Harris Lawyers

A previous winner, Miller Harris Lawyers continues to strive for an equitable and diverse work environment. Miller Harris has policies, processes, facilities and a recruitment program that actively promote diversity.

QLS President's Equity Advocate Award - Linda Ryle

In 2017 QLS President, Christine Smyth, introduced the QLS President’s Equity Advocate Award, which recognises and celebrates efforts to promote and foster diversity within the legal profession, whether in private practice, a government agency or as part of wider community engagement, or volunteer work.

The award was presented to the president of the Indigenous Lawyers Association of Queensland, Linda Ryle, a tireless advocate for the promotion of Indigenous lawyers in Queensland. Her desire to amplify the voices and perspectives of Indigenous women has been a lifelong commitment, and she has been professionally engaged in the area of Indigenous affairs since the late 1990s.


From left, Melissa Nielsen (Partner, Miller Harris Lawyers), Linda Ryle (President, Indigenous Lawyers Association of Queensland), President Christine Smyth (President, Queensland Law Society), Neil Baker (Director - People and Culture, Cooper Grace Ward Lawyers) and Janet Wilson (CEO, Cooper Grace Ward Lawyers). 

Thanks go to the Equalising Opportunities in the Law Committee, now known as the QLS Equity and Diversity Committee, for its work in promoting and conducting these awards.