Queensland Law Society

What does Council do?

Queensland Law Society (QLS) is governed by an elected Council of 12 members, with an additional Council member appointed by the Attorney-General. Councillors are elected for a two-year term.


  • Sets the strategic direction for the Society through the approval of the Strategic Plan and Budget and guides policy for more than 10,000 members. 
  • Ensures the good governance of the Society and reviews and endorses corporate activities.  
  • Operations are guided by its charter with meetings held about every two months.

As a member of Council you have the opportunity to shape the legal profession in Queensland, support fellow practitioners and leverage QLS resources and reputation to make a positive difference in the community.

A subset of Council is the Executive Committee. This Committee considers issues between Council meetings as required. 

The Executive consists of the President, Deputy President, Vice President, Immediate Past President and four elected Councillors. The 2021 Executive Committee Members are:

  • President Elizabeth Shearer
  • Vice President Kara Thomson
  • Immediate Past President Luke Murphy
  • Councillor Michael Brennan
  • Councillor Chloe Kopilovic
  • Councillor Kirsty Mackie
  • Councillor Justin McDonnell