Queensland Law Society

Highly-respected criminal lawyer receives prestigious award

Date 10 Mar 2018
Contact Mel Raassina
Phone 07 3842 5849
Email media@qls.com.au

Last night (FRI MAR 9), Caboolture solicitor Kurt Fowler was presented with Queensland Law Society’s most esteemed award, the 2018 QLS President’s Medal at the annual Legal Profession Dinner and Awards night.

The annual award is presented to a solicitor who embodies the spirit of justice, leadership and tradition, and takes into account the span of the nominee’s career.

QLS president Ken Taylor said that it was a privilege to acknowledge Kurt’s abiding commitment to justice, leadership and the legal profession with this award for 2018.

“Throughout Kurt’s career, he has almost exclusively focused on advocacy and criminal defence, and is well-known and highly respected by his peers,” he said.

“Kurt has proven his commitment to access to justice and the administration of justice through not only his practice, but through his voluntary positions on various committees, as a presenter and chair at conferences, and as a volunteer for community legal services.

“It was a pleasure to recognise his achievements, dedication and hard work in front of more than 250 members of the Queensland legal profession.”

Mr Fowler advises younger solicitors as a QLS Senior Counsellor, is an accredited specialist in criminal law and the chair of the QLS Criminal Law Committee.

He is also a regular contributor to Queensland Legal Aid as a preferred supplier, past duty lawyer and has established a pro bono scheme within his regional practice.

Other awards presented on the night included the QLS Agnes McWhinney Award, a suite of equity and diversity awards, innovation in law and community legal centre member of the year acknowledgments. The full list of awards and winners can be found below:

President’s Medal – Kurt Fowler

QLS Agnes McWhinney Award – Ann-Maree David

Innovation in Law Award – Streten Masons Lawyers

Community Legal Centre Member of the Year – Terrence Stedman

Equity Advocate Award – Terrence Stedman

Large Legal Practice Award – Maurice Blackburn Lawyers

Small Legal Practice Award – Miller Harris Lawyers

Queensland First Nations Lawyer of the Year – Leah Cameron

Queensland First Nations Legal Student of the Year  - Nareeta Davis