Queensland Law Society

Legal educator wins coveted QLS Agnes McWhinney Award

Date 10 Mar 2018
Contact Mel Raassina
Phone 07 3842 5849
Email media@qls.com.au

Queensland Law Society’s annual Agnes McWhinney Award was presented last night (FRI MAR 9) at the Legal Profession Dinner and Awards night to College of Law Queensland executive director Ann-Maree David.

This award is received by a Queensland female practitioner for their outstanding professional contributions throughout their career.

QLS president Ken Taylor said that the award was named after the first female solicitor in Queensland – Agnes McWhinney – who paved the way for females in the profession.

“All of our nominees are a tribute to not only women lawyers but the entire legal profession,” he said.

“This year’s award went to Ann-Maree, who has spent more than 30 years in Queensland’s legal profession and devoted much of her career to formal education and ongoing professional development.”

Ms David is a mentor and coach for Queensland law students, graduates and fellow female lawyers, as well as a contributor to both national and international legal education agendas.

“Ann-Maree has been involved in legal education for some time, even working for Queensland Law Society earlier in her career,” Mr Taylor said.

“She was actually responsible for implementing teleconference as a method of education when it was still a ground breaking piece of technology."

“We are proud to have Ann-Maree as a leader in our profession.”

Ann-Maree is also the vice president of the Women Lawyers’ Association of Queensland, the president of Australian Women Lawyers and the director of the Australian Gender Equality Council.

Other awards presented on the night included the prestigious President’s Medal, a suite of equity and diversity awards, innovation in law and community legal centre member of the year acknowledgments. The full list of awards and winners can be found below:

President’s Medal – Kurt Fowler

QLS Agnes McWhinney Award – Ann-Maree David

Innovation in Law Award – Streten Masons Lawyers

Community Legal Centre Member of the Year – Terrence Stedman

Equity Advocate Award – Terrence Stedman

Large Legal Practice Award – Maurice Blackburn Lawyers

Small Legal Practice Award – Miller Harris Lawyers

Queensland First Nations Lawyer of the Year – Leah Cameron

Queensland First Nations Legal Student of the Year - Nareeta Davis