Queensland Law Society

New Council to guide the legal profession

Date 07 Oct 2011
Contact Natalie Graeff, Manager Corporate Communication
Phone (07) 3842 5868
Mobile 0488 433 884
Fax 07 3221 9329
Email n.graeff@qls.com.au

Queensland Law Society members have elected a new Council with details released today of the 12 people who will guide the profession through two years of significant change, commencing 1 January 2012.

QLS Council 2012-13 -
President: John de Groot
Deputy President: Annette Bradfield
Vice President: Ian Brown
Ordinary Members of Council:

  • Genevieve Dee
  • Suzanne Greenwood
  • Bill Potts
  • Joanne Parisi
  • Rohan Armstrong
  • Michael Fitzgerald
  • Paul Tully
  • Warren Denny

Deborah Awyzio continues as the Attorney-General’s nominee.

This year there were 19 people vying for a position on Council, including three Presidential nominees. The Society had one of its best voter turnouts, with 2,346 members participating.

Queensland Law Society CEO Noela L’Estrange said it was always a proud day to see a new Council elected and pleasing to see that, particularly with this election, Council is, literally, representative of members.

“This election marked a major change for Queensland Law Society from a paper-based to online election process, and it’s encouraging to see so many members engaging with the Society and having their say – including members who might not have voted previously,” Ms L’Estrange said.

“With change resulting from the National Legal Profession Reform in the next two years, and the Society’s move towards becoming a member-focused organisation, we need to ensure Council and our members can responsively interact and this move to more online transactions is set to continue.”