Queensland Law Society

Queensland Law Society announces Council election outcome

Date 21 Oct 2015
Contact Gabrielle Kopke
Phone 07 3842 5903
Mobile 0488 433 884
Email g.kopke@qls.com.au

Queensland Law Society president Michael Fitzgerald is delighted by member interest in this year’s Queensland Law Society Council election.

“All Queensland Law Society (QLS) members were encouraged to vote and have their say in the future of the profession. It is our members’ opportunity to take an active role in the governance of Queensland practitioners and help build a Council team that supports their interests,” says Mr Fitzgerald.

“The 2015 election resulted in a great response from members with more than 25% of members voting.

“The Society’s Council plays an important role within Queensland’s legal profession, providing guidance on advocacy, promoting the highest standards of ethical and professional conduct, and ensuring that the Society meets the needs of our legal profession.”

The QLS Council commencing on 1 January 2016 includes the following QLS members:


William Potts

Deputy president

Christine Smyth

Vice president

Kara Cook

Ordinary councillors

Michael Brennan

Christopher Coyne

Jennifer Hetherington

Chloe Kopilovic

Elizabeth Shearer

Kenneth Taylor

Kara Thomson

Paul Tully



About the Council

Queensland Law Society (QLS) is committed to supporting good lawyers and shaping good law for Queensland’s legal profession. QLS Council is responsible for setting the strategic direction of the Society.

QLS Council guides the Society in advocating for and on behalf of our members and the solicitors’ branch of the Queensland legal profession, promoting the highest standards of ethical and professional conduct by Queensland solicitors, and providing services that support members in achieving professional success. QLS Council ensures Queensland Law Society meets the needs of our legal profession.