Queensland Law Society

Queensland Law Society president joins Law Council of Australia Executive

Date 02 Dec 2015
Contact Gabrielle Kopke
Phone 07 3842 5903
Mobile 0488 433 884
Email g.kopke@qls.com.au

Queensland Law Society (QLS) president Michael Fitzgerald has been elected as one of the 2016 members of the Law Council of Australia (LCA) Executive.

The six members of the 2016 LCA Executive were decided upon at the November LCA Directors’ Meeting.
Mr Fitzgerald says he is pleased to be among those appointed to the LCA Executive.
“I would like to congratulate my fellow 2016 Law Council of Australia Executive members, incoming president Stuart Clark AM (NSW), incoming president-elect Fiona McLeod SC (Vic.), incoming treasurer Morrie Bailes (SA), and members Arthur Moses SC (NSW) and Konrad de Kerloy (WA),” he said.
“It has been a privilege to be the Society’s nominee director to the LCA this year, and I look forward to working with my fellow Executive members during the coming year.
“I am honoured to represent the legal profession and constituent bodies at a federal level, as well as promote justice across the country.”
Mr Fitzgerald is the 2015 president of Queensland Law Society, having also been a member of the QLS Council since 2010 and deputy president in 2014.
He is a consultant for Ashurst, having been with the firm since 1982, with expertise in banking and finance law, advising banks, listed companies and statutory corporations.
Mr Fitzgerald is also involved in his local community, holding positions with a number of organisations.