Queensland Law Society

Congratulations to QLS Legal Profession Award winners for 2018

The most prestigious night on the Queensland legal profession calendar, the QLS Legal Profession Dinner & Awards was held on Friday 9 March and saw the legal community, including esteemed members of the judiciary, come together to celebrate the achievements of outstanding individuals and firms across multiple award categories. This year’s awards were held at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre after day one of QLS Symposium and saw all QLS awards amalgamated into one gala evening and the inclusion of three new awards to reflect the diversity of our profession.

The award of the night – the QLS President’s Medal – went to Caboolture criminal law accredited specialist Kurt Fowler. Each year, this award is presented to a solicitor who embodies the spirit of justice, leadership and tradition, and QLS president Ken Taylor said that it was a privilege to acknowledge Kurt’s abiding commitment to the legal profession with this award for 2018.

The annual QLS Agnes McWhinney Award was presented to College of Law Queensland executive director Ann-Maree David who has spent more than 30 years in Queensland’s legal profession and devoted much of her career to formal education and ongoing professional development.

Our congratulations to all our award winners, see full list below:

President’s Medal – Kurt Fowler

QLS Agnes McWhinney Award – Ann-Maree David

Innovation in Law Award – Streten Masons Lawyers

Community Legal Centre Member of the Year – Terrence Stedman

Equity Advocate Award – Terrence Stedman

Equity & Diversity – Large Legal Practice Award – Maurice Blackburn Lawyers

Equity & Diversity – Small Legal Practice Award – Miller Harris Lawyers

Queensland First Nations Lawyer of the Year – Leah Cameron

Queensland First Nations Legal Student of the Year – Nareeta Davis

For more information on this year's QLS Legal Profession Award winners visit qls.com.au/awards