Queensland Law Society

Specialist Accreditation

Specialist Accreditation program

Queensland Law Society’s Specialist Accreditation program provides the general public with a reliable way to identify lawyers who have a high level of expertise in a particular area. The Specialist Accreditation qualification and accompanying logo and post-nominal are a nationally recognised mark of excellence.

What is Specialist Accreditation?

Accredited Specialists are lawyers who have successfully completed an advanced, peer-reviewed assessment program specific to their area of expertise, demonstrating their high level of knowledge and skills in that area. Only lawyers, not law practices, can be Accredited Specialists.

The Specialist Accreditation program offers accreditation across 10 areas of law:

  • Family
  • Property
  • Succession
  • Taxation
  • Business
  • Criminal 
  • Commercial litigation
  • Workplace relations
  • Immigration
  • Personal injuries

Why choose an Accredited Specialist?

When you have a legal problem that becomes more than routine, you may need the services of an expert. Just as medical problems may be referred to a specialist, tough legal issues should be looked after by a QLS Accredited Specialist in the relevant area of law. In addition to their qualifications and training as a lawyer, they maintain a high level of professional development each year. You can trust that an Accredited Specialist has a minimum of five years' post-qualification experience and ongoing substantial involvement in their specialist area of law. They are recognised as leaders in the profession and are experienced in delivering exceptional client service.

How can I find an Accredited Specialist?

Visit the Society’s Find an Accredited Specialist page or select 'Specialist Accreditation' when using the Find your Solicitor search feature.