Queensland Law Society

Specialist Accreditation

Areas of accreditation  |  Benefits  |  Eligibility  |  How to apply  |  Important documents  |  Maintaining accreditation  |  Marketing your accreditation  |  Leave of absence  |  Presenting opportunities | Graduates

Specialist Accreditation

There are currently over 13,000 Solicitors in Queensland, of which just over 500 are Accredited Specialists in Queensland. Becoming an Accredited Specialist will therefore mean that you will form part of this small and elite group. 

The Specialist Accreditation Scheme was established for a number of reasons, but the two primary reasons are to provide:

  • Solicitors with an opportunity to formally recognise their high level of competency and knowledge in their chosen area of legal practice; and
  • guidance to the public and the profession as to which legal practitioners are truly leaders in their legal speciality.

The QLS Scheme is part of a national framework of Schemes run by other law societies in Australia and is therefore part of a national benchmark for recognising legal speciality. 

The QLS Scheme currently offers accreditation in 9 areas of specialty.

2021 QLS specialist accreditation programs

Due to the impacts of COVID-19, in 2021 QLS will offer accreditation in the following programs:

  • Commercial Litigation
  • Family Law
  • Succession Law
  • Property Law

Applications have now closed. 

Specialist Accreditation Scheme 2021 overview

A video providing a general overview of the QLS Specialist Accreditation Scheme for 2021, filmed by The Manager of the Professional Advancement Team.