Queensland Law Society

Specialist Accreditation banner


What are the eligibility criteria?

To apply for the Specialist Accreditation Program in Queensland you must satisfy all of the following criteria:

  • Hold a current practising certificate in Australia or be engaged in legal practice as a Government Legal Officer engaged in government work.
  • Have been engaged in legal practice for five years on a full-time basis or equivalent.
  • Be a full member of Queensland Law Society.
  • For the three years immediately prior to application, demonstrate Substantial Involvement in the area of law for which accreditation is sought.
For more information about eligibility, please see the Specialist Accreditation Scheme Handbook.

What if I do not meet these criteria?

If you do not fully meet the criteria for eligibility regarding level of involvement in the area of practice, you may request that the Specialist Accreditation Board exercise its discretion to accept your application pursuant to the terms under clause 2.1 of the Handbook.

For further enquiries (including making a discretionary application) please contact the Specialist Accreditation team at spec@qls.com.au