Queensland Law Society

Specialist Accreditation

Maintaining your accreditation

How do I maintain my accreditation?

Re-accreditation must be obtained annually. In order to qualify for re-accreditation, you must:

  • continue to hold full membership with the Society
  • hold a practising certificate issued by the Society or the Bar Association of Queensland, or continue to be engaged in legal practice as a Government Legal Officer engaged in government work
  • maintain Substantial Involvement in the area of practice in which accreditation is held (i.e. not less than 25% of full-time employment, or the equivalent part-time employment, engaged in legal practice)
  • complete an additional five CPD points annually (i.e. a total of 15 points per CPD year), where a minimum of 10 CPD points must be in the area of accreditation
  • pay the annual re-accreditation fee within the prescribed period each year.

Please note:  In the CPD year in which accreditation is granted, you are only required to complete one additional CPD point in the core area of Practice Management and Business Skills.

Will I be subject to an audit of my CPD requirements as an accredited specialist?

In the first three (3) CPD years following accreditation, Accredited Specialists will be asked to submit a re-accreditation report. This report should set out the professional development activities completed during the CPD Year to satisfy the specific CPD Requirements. Otherwise, Accredited Specialists will only be asked to submit a re-accreditation report if they are selected at random during the annual audit process. In either case, Accredited Specialists are encouraged to:

(a) maintain a record of the professional development activities for each CPD Year (from 1 April - 31 March)
(b) retain supporting documentation as evidence of meeting the CPD Requirements for each CPD Year.