Queensland Law Society

Trust Accounting Referral Course

The purpose of the course is to provide legal practitioners, whose actions are capable of constituting unsatisfactory professional conduct or whose fitness to practice has been called into question, with additional awareness of their trust accounting obligations.

Solicitors may be referred or recommended to complete the course by QCAT, the Legal Practice Committee, the Legal Services Commission (LSC), Council or the Executive Committee of the Council of Queensland Law Society.  The one-day course is carried out by the Society’s trust account experts, who deliver specialised training in trust accounting, and the competency expected of solicitors when handling trust money.  

How to apply?

In most instances, participants are referred and the Society will initiate contact in relation to the referral.  

In order to apply for the course the following items must be submitted by the relevant application closing date:

  • A completed enrolment form
  • A signed agreement letter (sent at the time the Society makes initial contact)
  • The application fee of $1,500.00 (inclusive of GST).

For further information about the course or to register please contact the Society’s Professional Leadership team on 07 3842 5908 or by email to tarc@qls.com.au

Workshop dates for 2020

Closing date for applications

Workshop date

Workbook assessment due

Examination

Wednesday 11 February

Wednesday 4 March

Wednesday 18 March

Wednesday 25 March

Wednesday 29 April

Wednesday 20 May

Wednesday 3 June

Wednesday 10 June

Wednesday 8 July

Wednesday 29 July

Wednesday 12 August

Wednesday 19 August

Wednesday 16 September

Wednesday 7 October

Wednesday 21 October

Wednesday 28 October