Bundys top advocate against DV wins coveted legal award

Media release - 18 March 2019

Children’s representative and advocate against domestic violence Edwina Rowan, has won the annual Queensland Law Society Agnes McWhinney Award recognising outstanding women in the law at last night’s QLS Legal Profession Dinner and Awards night (FRI MAR 15).

Ms Rowan is a stand-out lawyer in her field, practising law as a partner in her firm Charltons Lawyers in Bundaberg, accredited as an Independent Children’s Lawyer and an active and strong advocate against domestic violence.

The QLS Agnes McWhinney Award is presented at the legal night of nights each year to an inspiring female lawyer who exhibits the trailblazing spirit of its namesake – Queensland’s first female solicitor, Agnes McWhinney.

QLS President Bill Potts said that Ms Rowan’s work to better the lives of women and children fleeing domestic violence was to be commended, and showed her commitment to bettering her local community.

“Not only does Edwina represent children in court, she also plays a leadership role on the ground in domestic violence through the EDON Place Domestic and Family Violence Centre and her work finalising a text on the topic, she is also a strong advocate for the Men’s Behavioural Change Program,” he said.

Ms Rowan has also been recognised within her local community of Bundaberg, receiving the Queensland Police Community Service Award in 2018.

She was also Secretary of her local law association in 2016 and is the current President, is a preferred Legal Aid Queensland supplier and was a member of women’s organisation Zonta International. She is a mentor for younger lawyers and a supporter of regional solicitors.

“Edwina truly embodies the spirit of Queensland’s first female solicitor, being the first female solicitor of her firm since its establishment in 1885, along with the only female partner of her firm and one of only four female partners in her region,” Mr Potts said.

“Edwina is an inspiration to younger solicitors and I look forward to seeing the excellent work she achieves into the future.”

Other awards presented on the night included the prestigious President’s Medal, a suite of equity and diversity awards, innovation in law and community legal centre member of the year acknowledgments. The full list of awards and winners can be found below:

President’s Medal – Glen Cranny

Community Legal Centre Member of the Year – William Mitchell

Innovation in Law Award – Andrea Perry-Petersen

First Nations Lawyer of the Year – William Munro

First Nations Student of the Year – Giselle Kilner-Parmenter

Equity Advocate Award – Ian Hazzard and Michael Bidwell

Equity and Inclusion: Large and Medium Legal Practice: McCullough Robertson

Equity and Inclusion: Small Legal Practice - BTLawyers

Agnes McWhinney Award: Edwina Rowan


Contact information