Specialist Accreditation

The Specialist Accreditation Scheme was established so solicitors have an opportunity to formally recognise their high level of competency and knowledge in their chosen area of legal practice and as guidance to the public and the profession as to which legal practitioners are truly leaders in their area of expertise. 

With little over 500 Accredited Specialists in Queensland, gaining accreditation will mean that you, as a member of the Society, will form part of this small and elite group.

QLS's Scheme is part of a national framework of schemes run by other law societies and a national benchmark for recognising specialist expertise.  Queensland Law Society currently recognises 11 areas of speciality:

  • Business law
  • Commercial litigation
  • Criminal law
  • Family law
  • Immigration law
  • Mediation
  • Personal injuries
  • Property law
  • Succession law
  • Taxation law
  • Workplace relations

QLS does not run specialist accreditation programs for Immigration law or Taxation law.  Queensland practitioners can contact the Law Society of New South Wales and/or Law Institute of Victoria about enrolling into one of these programs, as they are both nationally based and successful graduates can seek mutual recognition in Queensland from the QLS Specialist Accreditation Board.

2023 Accreditation Program

QLS is anticipating to offer the following accreditation programs in the 2023 calendar year.

  • Commercial Litigation
  • Family Law
  • Property Law
  • Succession Law

How to apply


Application fee  $154
This is a non-refundable processing fee. Applications will not be considered until payment of this fee is made. 

Course fee  $1,195
Successful applicants will be issued with an invoice for the course fee. This fee covers the assessment process. Admission into the program will not be confirmed until this fee has been paid.

Accreditation fee $480
This fee is payable once you have successfully completed the assessment process. A re-accreditation fee is payable each year at the time of renewing your practising certificate and QLS membership.

All fees above are inclusive of GST.


Why become an Accredited Specialist?

More information 

How to apply

Information about the application process and what you need to do next. 

More information 

Governance and Important Documents

Read more about administration and governance of the Specialist Accreditation Scheme including policies, the handbook and other important information. 

Read more 

Maintaining your accreditation

Re-accreditation must be obtained annually. See what is required to maintain your accreditation

More information 

Frequently asked questions

QLS has provided a number of frequently asked questions about the scheme including interstate recognition. 

More information